web is still alive

16 years after creating my first blog in Blogger, I experienced the same excitement with Hashnode blogging tool again😍

¡

3 min read

This is my first experiment with Hashnode, and It gave me the feeling I experienced 16 years ago creating a free google blog (in blogger service!)

When I first experienced internet and the web, I instantly fell in love with this new world I had found and really dreamed to have my own web site.

I remember how excited I was when I could setup a free blog and see my custom notes live on a real domain😍

Wow, such a great feeling. “Is it real? Can everyone on the internet now type this address and see exact same page? Is it really a web site?”

I was really excited that I can set a theme for my blog, and etc (FYI it’s theme was green and I chose that because a few days before that I had dreamed that I have created a website with green background!, yes really, I saw a dream about owning a website in my sleep)

I was around 12 when I found web such an amazing place and I explored it many hours a day with internet explorer. And chatting for hours in yahoo messenger of course😅 Some of you may recall it.

When I became 19 I started learning and developing web sites seriously and worked as an intern in a web development firm where we were recommended to type all our html and css directly in notepad tool (yeah we were encouraged to write code as it is our language, no fancy ai auto completions and vscode shortcuts...) although there were powerful editors like dreamweaver available at that time.

Today I am a full stack MERN developer interested and focused on “developers productivity” subject and “developer tools”

Recently I searched Producthunt to find an app to help me curate and share tools and productivity tricks I learn with others, and I tried many apps before meeting Hashnode.

As someone who has recently focused on productivity I didn’t want to develop a nodejs app for this reason, and thought I should start experiencing nocode, and lowcode solutions and stop re-inventing the wheel from a point in my career.

I tried Notion, Wakelet app and etc to name a few, but they didn’t catch me.

Today I found “Hashnode”, this really cool blogging platform for developers, and decided to use it as a tool to write and share my recent findings in developer productivity tools.

Hashnode made me feel same excitement I had experienced finding the Blogger years ago. And I am specially happy that I feel after a long time that “web is still alive” and found the hope that it will be a nice place in future to come.

Do you remember the first time you used the web and internet? Do you have same experience or memory to share?

As a side note: English is not my main language so sorry in advance for any mistakes you find in my blog posts. But I don’t let that stop me from sharing my thoughts and experiences and connecting with other developers worldwide❤️

Â